skip navigation

Jones leads Men's Swimming to season-opening victory over Seahawks

Jones leads Men's Swimming to season-opening victory over Seahawks

ARLINGTON, Va. – Paced by seven first-place finishes throughout the meet, the Marymount men's swim team collected the season-opening victory on Saturday afternoon in its home pool, defeating St. Mary's College of Maryland in a Capital Athletic Conference dual meet, 115-88. 

The Saints opened up the meet and closed the meet in the same fashion, earning relay victories in the 200-yard medley and 200-yard freestyle for 11 points each. With the combination of senior Wes Wilson, juniors Ian Griffith and Isaiah Jones and sophomore Tedd Pham, the squad clocked a time of 1:40.66, beating out the Seahawks by just a little over a second. 

In a closer battle, the 200 free relay saw the Saints beat out the Seahawks by just .83 of a second. With the crew of senior Shaka Kuykendall and sophomores Zachary Payne, Scott Bockisch and Nicholas DiSanti, the team raced to a time of 1:34.06. 

Jones led the way in the individual events for the day with two first-place victories, while Payne, Pham and Griffith each collected one. 

Jones moved up a spot in program history to No. 5 in the 50-yard free with his first-place time of 21.77. The time is enough to tie him with recent graduate James Gibbons. He followed it up in the 100-yard free with a Top-10 time of 48.56, but it wasn't enough to beat his No. 7 time of 48.33. 

Payne beat out the top St. Mary's swimmer in the 1000-yard free by roughly a minute and half, clocking a time of 10:54.02. Pham grabbed his top finish in the 200-yard IM, beating the Seahawk competition by over two seconds for a time of 2:05.44 for nine points. Griffith rounded out the top finishes in the 100-yard butterfly, just getting his finger tips on the wall .18 seconds ahead of the Seahawk second-place finisher. With a time of 56.32, he also collected nine points. 

The Saints will continue CAC competition next Saturday, November 4 on the road at reigning CAC Champion, University of Mary Washington. Start time is set for 1 p.m., in Fredericksburg, Virginia.